Toggle menu

Boundary and polling district reviews

Boundary reviews are where areas of voting are reviewed to take account of population changes. This makes sure voting is fair and promotes effective governance.

Review of Polling Districts, Polling Places and Polling Stations 2023

Each Local Authority is required to carry out reviews of Polling Districts and Polling Places in its area within a 16 month period starting on 1 October every fifth year after 1 October 2013.

These reviews look at polling districts and polling places in an Authority's area. A council's area is divided into polling districts. One or more polling districts can make up a Borough Council ward. A polling place is an area or building within a polling district in which a polling station is situated. The Returning Officer for Stockton on Tees has commented on the current arrangements and has made his submission.

Acting Returning Officer's Draft proposals (PDF) [605KB] . You can view the proposed ward maps on our website.

Comments are invited from electors, and other interested parties, including people or organisations with expertise in access for persons with any type of disability on any aspect of polling districts and/or polling places currently used and on any representation made by the Returning Officer. The Council would particularly welcome suggestions for alternative places that may be used as polling stations where a mobile station is currently used.

Comments may be submitted by post to:

Mike Greene

Returning Officer

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Municipal Buildings

Church Road


TS18  1LD

You can submit comments via email by emailing

The deadline for making representations is Sunday 29 October 2023.

The outcome of the review will be published on the Council's website at the end of November. All correspondence in connection with the review, including representations made, will also be published.


2023 Parliamentary Boundary Review

Constituency boundaries are changing, and it's your final chance to help shape the new map.

The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) is required by Parliament to undertake an independent and impartial review of all constituencies in England, to rebalance the number of electors in each constituency.

Constituency sizes currently vary widely due to population changes since the last boundary review. The new map proposed by the Commission will make sure each constituency has between 69,724 and 77,062 electors, so that each MP represents roughly the same number of electors. The 2023 Boundary Review also requires that the number of constituencies in England increases from 533 to 543.

The Commission has listened to the feedback sent in from the public, and have changed nearly half of the initial proposals published last year. The new revised proposals are now available to view via an interactive map on the consultation website.

A final public consultation is open now until 5 December and is the last chance to provide your views on new constituency boundaries. The Boundary Commission for England has invited the public to visit the Boundary Commission's website and comment on the proposals via the website, email or letter. Hard copies of the proposals are available to view at public places of deposit listed on the Boundary Commission for England website. You can give your feedback on anything from where the proposed electoral boundaries are, to the suggestions for new constituency names.

To tell the Commission whether the new proposals for constituencies best represent your local community, visit the Boundary Comission's website and have your say before 5 December.

Follow @BCEReviews on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to keep up-to-date with 2023 Boundary Review news.

Further information is available in the Boundary Commission's Guide to the 2023 Review.


Local boundary review 2022

Local boundary reviews are carried out by The Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The commission have recently carried out an electoral review of Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council. You can find out more at The Local Government Boundary Commission for England website. You can view an interactive map of the changes on the LGBCE website.

In summary the outcome of the review is:

  • Stockton-on-Tees will be represented by 56 councillors
  • Stockton-on-Tees should have 27 wards, one more than previously
  • the boundaries of 23 wards changed; four stayed the same
  • as a result of changes to ward boundaries there will be revised parish electoral arrangements for Billingham Town Council, Egglescliffe Parish Council, Grindon & Thorpe Thewles Parish Council, Ingleby Barwick Town Council, Kirklevington & Castlelevington Parish Council and Thornaby Town Council

Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council has carried out an interim review of polling districts and polling places in accordance with the Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2013.

Polling districts and polling places have been reviewed as a result of changes to ward boundaries following an electoral review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

A Council's area is divided into polling districts. One or more polling districts can make up a Borough Council ward. A polling place is an area or building within a polling district in which a polling station is situated.

You can download individual ward boundary maps showing the changes.

Council approved the new polling districts and places on 23 November 2022. The Council report on polling stations sets out the consultation that took place and details of the representation received.

The Acting Returning Officer's final proposals (PDF) [1MB] summarise the changes that were made.

Correspondence relating to the review is also available for inspection at the Council Offices, Municipal Buildings, Church Road, Stockton-on-Tees.