Toggle menu

Police and Crime Panel

The Police and Crime Panel oversees the work of the Police and Crime Commissioner.

Members of the police and crime panel

The Police and Crime Panel is made up of:

  • Hartlepool Borough Council Representatives
    • Councillor Stephen Picton
    • Councillor Amy Prince
  • Middlesbrough Borough Council Representatives
    • Mayor Andy Preston
    • Councillor Barrie Cooper (Vice-Chair)
    • Councillor Tom Mawston
  • Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council Representatives
    • Councillor Graham Cutler
    • Councillor Sue Jeffrey
    • Councillor Chris Jones
  • Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council Representatives
    • Councillor Stefan Houghton
    • Councillor Tony Riordan (Chair)
    • Councillor Steve Nelson
    • Councillor Norma Stephenson OBE
  • Non- Political Independent Members
    • Paul McGrath
    • Luigi Salvati

Members of the public can ask questions at the Police and Crime Panel in line with the process detailed in our Public Participation at meetings document.

For more information, read the Police and Crime Panel Annual Report 2020-21.  (PDF) [1MB]


Meeting agendas and minutes

View the Police and Crime Panel meetings, agendas and minutes via egenda


The Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) role

The PCC:

  • represents the interests of local communities
  • holds the Chief Constable to account for police performance
  • sets the priorities for the Force and prepares the Police and Crime Plan
  • appoints (and dismisses if necessary) the Chief Constable
  • sets the Police budget and the part of Council Tax that goes to policing
  • works with other agencies and partners to improve public safety
  • commissions police and crime services

Visit the Police and Crime Commissioner website for further information.