Civic Dignitaries

Stockton-on-Tees Coat of arms

For the latest Coronavirus updates and information including advice and support for residents and businesses visit

To find out how to get a Coronavirus test visit

Former Mayors of the Borough

 The following list shows former Mayors of the Borough listed back to 1974/1975.


Mayors from 2000 to 2021

2020/21 Mohammed Javed
2019/20 Lynn Hall
2018/19 Eileen Johnson
2017/18 Maurice Perry
2016/17 Ken Dixon
2015/16 Ian Dalgarno
2014/15 Barbara Inman
2013/14 Kathryn Nelson
2012/13 Lynne Apedaile
2011/12 Paul Baker
2010/11 Colin Leckonby
2009/10 Paul Kirton
2008/09 John Fletcher
2007/08 Bill Noble
2006/07 Suzanne Fletcher MBE                   
2005/06 Mick Stoker
2004/05 Jennie Beaumont
2003/04 Ann Cains
2002/03 Jean O' Donnell
2001/02 Terry Bean
2000/01 Pete Andrew


Mayors from 1989/1990 to 1999/2000

1999/00 Jean Kitchen
1998/99 Ann McCoy
1997/98 Barry Woodhouse
1996/97 Robert Gibson
1995/96 Dora Redican
1994/95 Keith Dobinson
1993/94 James Matthew Vaughan
1992/93 John Stephen Smailes
1991/92 Michael O' Brien
1990/91 Gladys Pragnell
1989/90 Harry Lonsdale Davies, MBE          


Mayors from 1980/1981 to 1988/1989

1988/89 Winifred Hodgson, MBE
1987/88 Malda Platts
1986/87 Kenneth William Johnson Craggs
1985/86 Sydney Redican
1984/85 Jack Munsey, JP
1983/84 Alan Roland Pragnell
1982/83 Brian Cooper Hodgson
1981/82 John McKie Scott, JP
1980/81 Derek Cooke


Mayors from 1974/1975 to 1979/1980

1979/80 James Henry Cooke
1978/79 Robert Dobson
1977/78 Lawrence Wild, JP
1976/77 James Albert Tatchell                  
1975/76 Norman Duff
1974/75 John Dyson


Freemen of the Borough

The Honorary Freeman of the Borough is given to someone in recognition of their services to the Stockton Borough. Stockton Borough currently has a total of 20 Honorary Freeman, who have made an important contribution to the Borough.

The following people have been granted Honorary Freemen of the Borough:

July 22 2015 Robert Gibson (O.B.E.)
December 1 2011 1 Close Support Battalion R.E.M.E.
July 8 2009 The Yorkshire Regiment
January 21 2009 The Rifles
April 29 1999 Mary Butterwick
September 13 1991 Lieutenant Colonel Nathan Leslie Cohen (OBE, TD, CPM, JP), James Henry Cooke and Margaret Eileen Jackson (MBE, JP)
July 24 1985 Major Edward Cooper (VCJP)
May 22 1977 The Light Infantry Regiment
May 23 1968 The Rt. Hon. Horace Maybray King (PhD, MP), the Rt. Hon. Maurice Harold MacMillan (FRS), George Rowland Chetwynd Esq (CBE) and Mrs Helen M. Bott (BEM)
February 14 1956 Charles William Allison (OBE, JP)
April 16 1931 Thomas Downey
February 10 1927 Leonard Ropner (JP)
February 21 1921 Robert Bainbridge
April 29 1907 Sir Frank Brown
February 19 1904 Richard Hind and Jonathan Samual
February 5 1891 Sir Robert Ropner (BART)


Honorary Aldermen

The Council can also give the title of Honorary Alderman to previous Councillors who are no longer serving on the Council. If an Honorary Alderman is subsequently re-elected to the Council, the title would be suspended and re-enacted at the end of the Councillors term of office.

The following people have been awarded the title of Honorary Alderman:

March 14 2018 Peter Mallinson
December 20 2017 Stephen Smailes
March 9 2016 Marjorie Galloway (MBE) and Keith Leonard
October 28 2015 Jeremy Atkinson, Alex Cunningham
July 22 2015 Lynne Apedaile, Richard Cains, David Coleman, Maurice Frankland, Robert Gibson (O.B.E), Colin Leckonby, Kenneth Lupton, William Noble, Maureen Rigg, Fred Salt, Andrew Sherris, Steve Walmsley, Mary Womphrey, Michael Womphrey.
September 7 2011 Jennie Beaumont, Ann Cains, John A Fletcher, Suzanne Fletcher (MBE)
September 5 2007 Joan Wade
September 6 2006 Ann McCoy (title on hold due to re-election in May 2007)
March 22 2006 James Henry Cooke
March 24 2004 Keith Dobinson
February 18 2004 Winifred Hodgson (MBE)
September 13 2000 Robert Dobson and James Albert Tachell
March 29 2000 Derek Cooke, Kenneth William Craggs, Harry Davies (MBE), John Dyson, Brian Cooper Hodgson, Dora Redican, Sydney Redican, John McKie Scott (OBE, JP, MA), Sir Maurice Sutherland, Maureen Taylor (MBE, JP), James Matthew Vaughan, Lawrence Wild (OBE, JP), Edward Wood.