For the latest Coronavirus updates and information including advice and support for residents and businesses visit www.stockton.gov.uk/coronavirus

To find out how to get a Coronavirus test visit www.stockton.gov.uk/testing

From Armed Forces Day to Fairtrade Fortnight – all the special events marked in 2022 with Borough’s feature lighting

Friday, December 10, 2021

riverside lights

Iconic bridges and buildings in the Borough will once again light up for good causes and important anniversaries throughout the year.

The popular memorial lighting scheme sees structures like the Newport Bridge and Stockton Town Hall bathed in colourful lights to show the Borough’s support for a range of nationally recognised special occasions.

The LED lighting has been used to mark everything from Holocaust Memorial Day and World Cancer Day to Stoptober and Show Racism the Red Card.

And now the Council’s Cabinet has agreed an extended programme for 2022, with new additions including the National Day of Reflection on 23 March to mark the anniversary of the first national lockdown.

Councillor Jim Beall, Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council’s Cabinet Member for Health, Leisure and Culture, said: “Our memorial lighting programme continues to be very popular, and is shared far and wide on social media, highlighting these special days often usually as part of a wider campaign.

“The use of coloured lights has allowed us to highlight the Riverside, our iconic bridges and other town centre buildings and structures at their very best, while also showing our support for a wide range of nationally recognised causes and important anniversaries. 

“The 2021 memorial lighting calendar has thankfully been uninterrupted by COVID, and we look forward to lighting up the Borough on special days throughout 2022.”

The permanent lighting features, which change colour and pattern, also play an important role in the town's programme of popular riverside events.

Memorial lighting dates for 2022:

 Date

 Event

 Colour(s)

 Thursday 27 January

 Holocaust Memorial Day

 Purple

 Tuesday 1 February

 LGBT+ History Month

 Multi

 Friday 4 February

 World Cancer Day

 Orange

 Monday 21 February

 Fairtrade Fortnight

 Blue-Green

 Tuesday 8 March

 International Women's Day

 White/Purple/Green

 Wednesday 23 March

 National Day of Reflection

 Yellow

 Saturday 26 March

 Earth Hour (8.30pm-9.30pm)

 Switched off

 Saturday 2 April

 Autism Acceptance Day

 Gold

 Saturday 23 April

 St George's Day

 Red/White

 Monday 16 May

 National Dementia Action Week

 Purple

 Wednesday 1 June

 National Volunteering Week

 Red/Purple

 Thursday 2 June

 The Queen’s Platinum Jubilee

 (Lighting of Beacons)

 TBC

 TBC - June

 National Carers Week

 Blue

 Saturday 25 June

 Armed Forces Day

 Red/White/Blue

 Sunday 4 September

 World Sexual Health Awareness Day

 Orange/Blue

 Thursday 29 September

 World Heart Day

 Red

 Saturday 1 October 

 Stoptober (Stop Smoking Campaign)

 Red

 Sunday 9 October

 Baby Loss Awareness Week

 Pink/Blue

 Monday 10 October

 World Mental Health Day

 Purple

 Friday 21 October

 Show Racism the Red Card

Red

 Friday 11 November

 Remembrance Day

Red

 Monday 14 November

 World Diabetes Day

Blue

 Friday 25 November

 International Day for the Elimination of

 Violence Against Women

 Orange

 TBC

 Child Sexual Exploitation Awareness Day

 Purple

Like the Council’s Facebook page to get the latest news in your feed. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram.