Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Big plans, bright future

Christmas and New Year Waste and Recycling Dates: Here's what you need to know

Friday, December 20, 2019

untitled design 39

Residents across Stockton-on-Tees are being reminded to check the dates of waste and recycling collections over Christmas and New Year.

Here are the dates which will be affected over the festive period:

Normal collection date   

Revised collection date

Wednesday 25 December     

Friday 27 December

Thursday 26 December           

Saturday 28 December

Friday 27 December

Monday 30 December

Wednesday 1 January 

Thursday 2 January

Thursday 2 January      

Friday 3 January

Friday 3 January        

Saturday 4 January

If your normal collection day is on Tuesday 24 December or Tuesday 31 December it will remain unchanged. Collections will return to normal from Tuesday 7 January 2020.

Christmas trees should be left next to wheeled bins on normal collection days starting on Tuesday 7 January until the end of January.

Residents can also recycle trees at the Household Waste and Recycling Centre at Haverton Hill.

Councillor Mike Smith, Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council's Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport, said: “We try our best to keep any changes to waste and recycling collections to a minimum over the Christmas and New Year period but inevitably there are some revised collection dates which residents should be aware of. 

“We’d also encourage people to recycle the extra waste which comes from all the celebrations where they can. Wrapping paper, boxes, envelopes and cards can be recycled, along with glass bottles and cans.”

Unfortunately Christmas card with glitter on them cannot be recycled.

Recycling boxes and bags are available for free from Customer Service Centres at Stockton Central Library, Thornaby Central Library and Billingham Library. 

For details of the Household Waste and Recycling Centre’s opening times and for more information about what you can recycle visit www.stockton.gov.uk/recycling

To find out more about waste collections visit www.stockton.gov.uk/wastecollections