Skip to main content
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Big plans, bright future

Markets galore in Stockton Town Centre

specialist markets for web

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Stockton Town Centre is the place to be for markets.

The town’s 2017 programme is more distinct and varied than ever, with a whole host of specialist markets taking place alongside the traditional Wednesday, Friday and Saturday market.

Many of the regular favourites are returning but there are also some exciting new additions including the Stockton Stages Record Market featuring an array of traders selling records, CDs and music memorabilia, and the Stockton/Darlington Railway 192nd Birthday Market offering visitors a chance to learn about the town’s fascinating railway heritage.

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council’s Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Transport, Councillor Nigel Cooke, said: “Our busy specialist market programme offers more variety than ever before, complementing the traditional market and making the shopping experience in the town centre a unique one.

“With quality products, tasty treats and entertainment too, there is plenty to see and do for adults and children alike.

“If you are looking for a family day out, a special gift or even to treat yourself, our markets are a great place to start.  While you are in the town centre why not take the time to explore many of the quirky independent shops, enjoy a coffee or lunch at one of the cafes or eateries and remember to watch the Stockton Flyer emerge from the plinth at 1pm!”

Stockton Town Centre’s forthcoming specialist markets are:

Saturday 8 April – Chic Vintique

Saturday 6 May – Retro Market

Saturday 10 June – Kapow Sci Fi Market

Saturday 17 June – Stockton Book Fair

Saturday 8 July – Chic Vintique

Saturday 22 July – Stockton Stages Records Market

Saturday 23 September – Stockton/Darlington Railway 192nd Birthday Market

Saturday 7 October – Chic Vintique

Thursday 30 November – Sunday 3 December – Stockton Sparkles Christmas Market

For full details of the specialist markets programme visit www.stockton.gov.uk/specialistmarkets