Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Big plans for our places and open spaces

There are a number of disruptions to Council services because of Coronavirus (COVID-19). Please check the link below before accessing any of our services.

For details of disruptions and for advice and guidance visit www.stockton.gov.uk/coronavirus

Green waste collections from your home

Green waste collections are currently taking place monthly. Please hold onto your garden waste until then and most importantly, please do not put it out with your normal household waste and recycling. And do keep home composting if you can.

We usually ask you to put your green waste in the proper green waste bags but in the circumstances, we are advising you to either leave it out in reusable bags (which we will return) or if you haven’t got any, just leave it out in plastic carrier bags or bin liners (please note – these won’t be returned).

Collection dates are as follows:

Red Week – Saturday, June 27 and Sunday, June 28
Blue Week – Saturday, July 18  and Sunday, July 19
Red Week – Saturday, July 25 and Sunday, July 26
Blue Week – Saturday, August 15 and Sunday, August 16
Red Week – Saturday, August 22 and Sunday, August 23
Blue Week – Saturday, September 12 and Sunday, September 13
Red Week – Saturday, September 19 and Sunday, September 20
Blue Week – Saturday, October 10 and Sunday, October 11
Red Week – Saturday, October 17 and Sunday, October 18
Blue Week – Saturday, November 7 and Sunday, November 8
Red Week – Saturday, November 14 and Sunday, November 15

If your usual collection day is Tuesday or Wednesday, then your green waste collection will take place on the Saturday. If your usual collection day is Thursday or Friday, then your green waste collection will take place on the Sunday. If you’re not sure when your usual collection day is, your green waste collection day is the same as your recycling collection day.

If you are unsure if you are a blue or a red week you can find out using the following search facility.

 

loading

Compost at home

Home composting is one of the most important activities you can do to help the environment, and one of the easiest. At the present time it is the most useful way of diverting your garden waste and some uncooked fruit and vegetable waste from disposal, as on average nearly 60% of your waste at home could be composted!

Composting is a natural process that decomposes kitchen and garden waste (called ‘organic’ wastes) into a nutrient rich fertiliser or soil improver for gardens and growing spaces.  It is a straightforward and inexpensive process which doesn’t take much time to manage, and can be done in any small or large outdoor space including gardens and back yards.

So rather than putting green and garden waste in your domestic bin, here are some handy hints and tips on what to do at home:

  • First of all find a suitable space to compost, even if it’s a small back yard, a space at the bottom of the garden, you can create a useful way of dealing with green waste.
  • A home compost bin or area can deal with softer garden waste such as grass cuttings and prunings, some (uncoated) paper and cardboard, some food wastes e.g. fruit and vegetable peelings. For a really helpful full list of what can and can’t be home composted, visit the Here We Grow website.
  • Down in Suffolk, schools have produced this great guide to do composting with your children. Why not try setting up a compost heap at home with your children or grandchildren using the handy hints and tips?

Visit the Recycle Now website for further information on home composting.

 

Purchase of additional green waste bags

You can purchase a green hessian bag or roll of disposable bags priced at £3 from the following locations:

  • Stockton Customer Service Centre, Stockton Town Centre (Located within Stockton Central Library)
  • Thornaby Customer Service Centre, Thornaby Town Centre (Located within Thornaby Central Library)
  • Billingham Customer Service Centre, Billingham Town Centre (Located within Billingham Central Library)