Toggle menu

Feature lighting schedule

Our feature lighting schedule is agreed annually and runs January to December. It includes lighting of the Riverside, Newport Bridge and Town Centre lighting columns and fountain lights.

The annual feature lighting schedule includes a group of nationally recognised commemoration days, including those that are relevant and significant for Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council.

The lighting dates will normally be the only pre-set commemoration or campaign days which we align our lighting schedule with. We may agree to responsive lighting changes however, these are limited and in response to a major event or incident which has a profound impact on the general public.

2022 schedule

The following schedule was agreed by Cabinet Members for 2022.

Date

 Event

 Colour or colours

Thursday 27 January

 

Holocaust Memorial Day

Purple

Tuesday 1 February

 

LGBT+ History Month

Multi

Friday 4 February

 

World Cancer Day

Orange

Monday 21 February

 

Fairtrade Fortnight

Blue-Green

Tuesday 8 March

International Women's Day

White/Purple/Green

Wednesday 23 March

National Day of Reflection

 

Yellow

Saturday 26 March

 

Earth Hour (8:30pm-9:30pm)

Switched off

Saturday 2 April

Autism Acceptance Day

Gold

Saturday 23 April

 

St George's Day

Red/White

Monday 16 May

National Dementia Action Week

Purple

Wednesday 1 June

 

National Volunteering Week

Red/Purple

Thursday 2 June

 

The Queen's Platinum Jubilee

(Lighting of Beacons)

TBC

Monday 6 June

 

National Carers Week

Blue

Saturday 25 June

Armed Forces Day

Red/White/

Blue

Sunday 4 September

World Sexual Health Awareness Day

Orange/Blue

Thursday 29 September

 

World Heart Day

Red

Saturday 1 October

 

Stoptober

(Stop Smoking Campaign)

Red

Sunday 9 October

 

Baby Loss Awareness Week

Pink/Blue

Monday 10 October

 

World Mental Health Day

Purple

                    

Friday 21 October

Show Racism the Red Card

Red

Friday 11 November

 

Remembrance Day

Red

Monday 14 November

 

World Diabetes Day

Blue

Friday 25 November

International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women

Orange

TBC  

Child Sexual Exploitation Awareness Day

Purple

 

Feature lighting requests

We will consider lighting requests from members of the public, community groups and charities for the following year's programme. Due to the number of requests received we cannot guarantee that requests will be approved.

Make a feature lighting request